Christiane Neudecker: The God of the City . Luchterhand Literaturverlag (Hardcover, 20th century, c 1900 to c 1999, Germany)

The God of the City

Novel

Original Title: Der Gott der Stadt

original edition

Hardcover with jacket, 672 pages, 13.5 x 21.5 cm, 5.3 x 8.5 in.
ISBN: 978-3-630-87566-8
€ 24.00 [D] | € 24.70 [A] | CHF 33.90 * (* rec. retail price) recommended retail price

Publishing House: Luchterhand Literaturverlag

Date of publication: August 19, 2019
This title is available.

Kundenrezensionen: 5 Sterne (4)

 

Christiane  Neudecker - The God of the City
 
 
 

 

A brilliant novel about a play shrouded in mystery and a study of evil

At the beginning was Death. Somebody drowns trapped in the ice on the Wannsee in Berlin, a corpse is dangling from the ceiling of a theatre. The two deaths are decades apart, but the day of death is the same: January 16.

In 1912, poet Georg Heym drowned while skating, and in the mid-1990s undergraduate students at an elitist East Berlin school of acting were set the task of examining Heym's enigmatic Faust fragment. Then a body is found on the school's rehearsal stage. Was it murder, suicide or a pact with the devil?



For readers of Donna Tartt's The Secret History.

"The God of the City is a tightly plotted and highly literary novel rooted in one of modern Germany's most fascinating times and places."

New Books in German

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Weiter zu www.randomhouse.de