Joachim Bauer: Self-Control. Blessing Verlag (Hardcover, Social & Cultural Studies)

Self-Control

The re-discovery of free will

Original Title: Selbststeuerung

Hardcover with jacket, 240 pages, 13.5 x 21.5 cm, 5.3 x 8.5 in.
ISBN: 978-3-89667-539-2
€ 19.99 [D] | € 20.60 [A] | CHF 28.90 * (* rec. retail price) recommended retail price

Publishing House: Blessing

Date of publication: April 14, 2015
This title is available.

Kundenrezensionen: 4 Sterne (5)

 

Rights sold to: China (Chemical Ind. Press), The Netherlands (Uitg. Mens), Taiwan (Business Weekly)



Joachim  Bauer - Self-Control
 
 
 
 

 

How we can put ourselves in charge of our own lives

Self-control is an ability that in the world we live in is a prerequisite for professional success, happy relationships, and psychological and physical health. Those of us with self-control – in other words, people who are in a position to postpone the short-term satisfaction of personal needs in favour of long-term advantages – don't fall victim to unhealthy eating habits and lack of exercise; they don't spend too much time in front of the television or computer screens and are not at risk of addiction.

This book makes it clear how self-control works, why it is so important for a successful life and what we can do to relearn what we have forgotten. Joachim Bauer emphasises that abstinence, putting off wants and consciously tackling problems are by no means unnatural forms of self-castigation. In fact, the contrary is true: the ability to learn self-control is inherent in human beings. If it is to develop, we have to practice it from an early age – an observation that radically runs counter to the idea of children not having to make an effort, of perpetually being "enthusiastic".

For readers of Daniel Kahneman, Bas Kast and Stefan Klein.



Spiegel bestselling author: More than 700,000 copies of his books sold

"An urgent psycho-neuro-immunological plea against determinism and defeatism."

Oliver Wittkowski, SWR Wissenschaftsredakteur

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Weiter zu www.randomhouse.de