Tanja Raich: Jesolo . Blessing Verlag (Hardcover, Fiction)

Jesolo

Novel

Original Title: Jesolo

original edition

Hardcover with jacket, 224 pages, 12.5 x 20.0 cm, 4.9 x 7.9 in.
ISBN: 978-3-89667-644-3
€ 20.00 [D] | € 20.60 [A] | CHF 28.90 * (* rec. retail price) recommended retail price

Publishing House: Blessing

Date of publication: March 4, 2019
This title is available.

Kundenrezensionen: 4 Sterne (18)

 

Tanja  Raich - Jesolo
 
 
 
 

 

A dissection of family and motherhood – biting and with piercing wit

Children are not an issue for Andrea. She has a job that is OK. For many years she has been in a relationship with Georg which is OK. And every year they have a nice holiday in Jesolo. As far as the future is concerned, Andrea doesn't want to commit herself, but Georg would like a foundation for a life together. There seems to be no way out of this dilemma.

Upon returning from a holiday together everything changes – Andrea is pregnant. Torn either way, Andrea decides to keep the child – and in doing so makes one compromise after the other: she takes out a loan although she never wanted to borrow money from the bank; she moves into the house of her parents-in-law although she never wanted to live under one roof with them. Andrea is showered with advice and forced into a maternal role she never saw as hers and cannot identify with.

This is a haunting novel in the tradition of Elfriede Jelinek and Marlene Streeruwitz about ten months in the life of a young woman that not only reveals the entire ambivalence of partnership, pregnancy and family but also shows how difficult, if not to say impossible it is in view of role expectations in our society, to assert oneself.

"an honest, emancipated book"

EMOTION

 
 

Categories

 
 
 
 
 

Weiter zu www.randomhouse.de