What Dora Left Behind

Original Title: Was von Dora blieb

original edition

Hardcover with jacket, 336 pages, 13.5 x 21.5 cm, 5.3 x 8.5 in.
ISBN: 978-3-570-10396-8
€ 20.00 [D] | € 20.60 [A] | CHF 28.90 * (* rec. retail price) recommended retail price

Publishing House: C. Bertelsmann

Date of publication: March 15, 2021
This title is available.

 

Anja  Hirsch - What Dora Left Behind
 
 
 

 

Grandmother and Granddaughter – and a German century

Isa's marriage is in trouble. Deeply hurt, she flees to Lake Constance. In her suitcase are old letters and diaries belonging to her mysterious grandmother Dora. To take her mind off things, Isa delves into Dora's story: In the 1920s, Dora studied decorative arts at the Folkwangschule, a Bauhaus-style arts academy. There, she developed an intense friendship with two fellow students – the miner's son Frantek and extravagant Maritz – which eventually turned into a love triangle. Years later, Dora married a manager at I.G. Farben, a fact hardly ever mentioned in Isa's family.

More and more questions spring up: What was Isa's grandfather's role in the Second World War, and why was her father sent to a notorious Nazi boarding school? The more Isa digs into her family history, the more she understands Dora, and herself. Ultimately, she is forced to ask what it means to live a responsible life – and faces an important decision.

A moving novel about the difficulty of the war-grandchildren generation to anchor themselves in their own lives and a fascinating search for clues in which the readers meet themselves again and again.

For readers of Christian Berkel, Anne Gesthuysen and Annette Hess.

"What’s remarkable about the novel is the way that it keeps up the tension across its time shifts, and at the same time interrogates itself and its kind."

Westdeutsche Allgemeine Zeitung

 
 

Categories

 
 
 
 
 

Weiter zu www.penguinrandomhouse.de