Jürgen Neffe: More Than We Are . C. Bertelsmann Verlag (Hardcover, 21st century, c 2000 to c 2100)

More Than We Are

Novel

Original Title: Mehr als wir sind

original edition

Hardcover with jacket, 416 pages, 13.5 x 21.5 cm, 5.3 x 8.5 in.
ISBN: 978-3-570-10205-3
€ 19.99 [D] | € 20.60 [A] | CHF 28.90 * (* rec. retail price) recommended retail price

Publishing House: C. Bertelsmann

Date of publication: September 1, 2014
This title is available.

 

Jürgen  Neffe - More Than We Are
 
 
 

 

What if we did not have to sleep anymore?

Chemical laboratory assistant and amateur scientist Janush Coppki, withdrawn and detached from this world, makes the breakthrough discovery of an elixir with the help of which human beings no longer have to sleep. This is revolutionary for the whole world, for now people have one third more time at their disposal. What's more, this miracle drink, which looks like pure water (and indeed is water, the energy of which is being used here in a special way), increases creativity, stamina, euphoria and libido. Anyone starting to take it, however, quickly becomes addicted.

It is not Coppki's intention to make money with his miracle drug but rather to make the world a better place. But then the drug gets into wrong hands and spreads all round the world. Before long, protest groups are being formed that are demanding the right to sleep, while terror threats exacerbate the situation in a world that has come apart at the seams.

For readers of Michel Houellebecq's The Elementary Particles, James Meek's The Heart Broke In and Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go.

"This work is a scientific thriller, a critique of the present time, a profound novel – one that will rob us of sleep."

Technology Review

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Weiter zu www.randomhouse.de