A Short History of Digitalisation

Original Title: Eine kurze Geschichte der Digitalisierung

Hardcover with jacket, 256 pages, 12.5 x 20.0 cm, 4.9 x 7.9 in., 107 color illustrations
ISBN: 978-3-328-60001-5
€ 20.00 [D] | € 20.60 [A] | CHF 28.90 * (* rec. retail price) recommended retail price

Publishing House: Penguin

Date of publication: November 12, 2018
This title is available.

 

Rights sold to: Russia (Ad Marginem)



Martin  Burckhardt - A Short History of Digitalisation
 
 
 
 

 

From electrified monks to artificial intelligence: a cultural history of machines

Every day we go through a roller coaster of emotions: enthusiasm for digitalisation on the one hand and fear of this unknown cold power on the other. But where does it come from, this power?

Cultural theorist Martin Burckhardt points out that it was all thought up by human beings. After all, the digital age started off in 1746. We would not be able to surf the Internet if abbot Nollet had not discovered the immediate effect of electricity all those years ago. Neither would we be able to if Joseph-Marie Jacquard had not been involved in the invention of the programmable weaving loom and if Charles Babbage, with his analytical engine, had not laid the foundation for modern day computers.

It is not mathematics that has been driving digitalisation forward but human desires and longings. This book is an invitation to think of the computer not as a machine but rather as a parlour game that will leave its mark on our future. This is a crash course in the cultural history of machines.

For readers of Yuval Noah Harari and Bill Bryson.

 
 

Related books

 

Yuval Noah Harari

Eine kurze Geschichte der Menschheit

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Weiter zu www.penguinrandomhouse.de