Doris Cramer: The Cloud Women . Blanvalet Verlag (Hardcover, 20th century, c 1900 to c 1999, Germany, Morocco)

The Cloud Women

Novel

Original Title: Die Wolkenfrauen

original edition

Hardcover with jacket, 416 pages, 13.5 x 21.5 cm, 5.3 x 8.5 in.
ISBN: 978-3-7645-0620-9
€ 19.99 [D] | € 20.60 [A] | CHF 28.90 * (* rec. retail price) recommended retail price

Publishing House: Blanvalet

Date of publication: December 11, 2017
This title is available.

Kundenrezensionen: 4 Sterne (9)

 

Doris  Cramer - The Cloud Women
 
 
 
 

 

A country in upheaval, a family in turmoil, a love that must not be.

Germany, 1942. A young woman is dreaming of a future with her great love, but after an unforgettable night together he is sent to North Africa before they can marry.

1988. In her deceased mother's estate, Doro discovers drawings of the Moroccan desert and an amulet. Shattered by her mother's death and the secret of her origins that have been hidden from her for decades, Doro travels to Morocco to trace her family. In Agadir she meets her one-time lecturer Ingrid, who is now in charge of a relief organisation and immediately recognises the amulet: it is a rare example of the Fatima hand, a symbol of protection revered by Muslims. While journeying overland Doro witnesses a brutal arrest. Shortly afterwards she meets the prisoner again – he is called Amir and is wearing the same amulet, and he will change her life forever …

For readers of Claire Hajaj and Jan-Philipp Sendker.

"a fantastic desert novel, vivid, intelligent, and opulent"

Für Sie

 
 

Related books

 

Ulla Hahn

Wir werden erwartet

Ashley Ream

Ein Wunder alle hundert Jahre

Simonetta Agnello Hornby

Der Jasmingarten

Anna Romer

Am dunklen Fluss

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Weiter zu www.randomhouse.de