Gregor Sander: Done Everything Right. penguin (Hardcover, 20th century, c 1900 to c 1999, 21st century, c 2000 to c 2100, Germany)

Done Everything Right

Novel

Original Title: Alles richtig gemacht

Hardcover with jacket, 240 pages, 13.5 x 21.5 cm, 5.3 x 8.5 in.
ISBN: 978-3-328-60667-3
€ 20.00 [D] | € 20.60 [A] | CHF 28.90 * (* rec. retail price) recommended retail price

Publishing House: Penguin

Date of publication: August 19, 2019
This title is available.

Kundenrezensionen: 4 Sterne (19)

 

Gregor  Sander - Done Everything Right
 
 
 
 

 

The story of a life-long, a very special friendship

Thomas and Daniel from Rostock are still young when East Germany comes to an end – but old enough to be drawn into the mood of the exciting new age. The disparate friends move to Berlin, run the Mackerel Bar and feel that life is one big party. They fall in and out of love, are sometimes close to each other, at other times distant. But at some stage Daniel has to disappear after they have successfully illegally been dealing in art in New York.

Thomas and Daniel from the Eastern German city of Rostock are still young when East and West Germany are reunited – but old enough to be drawn into the mood of the exciting new age. The disparate friends move to Berlin, run the Mackerel Bar and feel that life is one big party. They fall in and out of love, are sometimes close to each other, at other times distant. But at some stage Daniel has to disappear after they have successfully illegally been dealing in art in New York.

Many years later he appears on the scene again as if nothing had happened, and he does so just as Thomas's now middle-class existence as a lawyer is going through a choppy patch: his wife has left him and taken their two daughters with her. Does Daniel have anything to do with it? And which of them has done anything right?

Gregor Sander writes with profound wit and a big heart. Done Everything Right is a sparkling novel about the early and later years of a reunited Germany, and above all, it is a celebration of friendship.

For readers of Wolfgang Herrndorf's Tschick and Sven Regener's Herr Lehmann.

"Gregor Sander can describe scenes that you can almost go for a walk in."

Deutschlandradio Kultur (03.05.2019)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Weiter zu www.randomhouse.de